Ojeda takes Specrum 015 to win on debut

Borland Racing Developments’ latest Formula Ford creation, the Spectrum 015, has continued the Spectrum tradition of immediate racing success, scoring a race win on debut in the hands of the talented Jayden Ojeda in Round 1 of the 2017 Australian Formula Ford Series at Sandown on March 4th.

After qualifying third, Ojeda pulled off some spectacular overtaking moves at the end of the back straight, powering his way to the lead and storming to victory in Race 1, before repeating the feat from pole position in Race 2.

A slow start cost Ojeda places in Race 3, but he still fought back to third and set the fastest race lap of the weekend in the process. As a result, he sits equal first in the standings.

ojeda round 1 sandown 2017

“Overall, it was a great weekend and we certainly demonstrated the Spectrum 015 has terrific race pace,” Ojeda said.

“Mike and the team did a great job with the setup and gave me a car that was fast when I had clear track, but also nice to drive when I was in traffic.

“It’s very early days but it’s nice to be at the top of the standings.”

Team owner Mike Borland said it was satisfying for his locally-designed and manufactured Formula Ford chassis to be immediately on the pace.

“The Spectrum 015 isn’t a radical new design, it’s more an evolution and refinement of the previous model,” Borland said.

“We’ve made some subtle aerodynamic improvements, updates to the geometry and further increased driver safety, and it’s nice to come away with such a great result in the car’s first outing.”

Jayden Ojeda is proudly supported by Borland Racing Developments, VHT, SMS Diesel Spares, Sakura Filteration, Febi, Engine Sensors Australia, OE Germany, and Pure Traveller, AMC, Valley Fitness St Marys, Stone Gaskets, Mahle-Izumi and CH Robinson Freight Forwarders.

Australian Formula Ford Series 2017 – Top 10 Points (after Round 1 of 6)
=1. Max Vidau – 44
=1. Jayden Ojeda – 44
3. Jordan Boys – 25.5
4. Nathan Herne – 23.5
5. Cameron Shields – 21
6. Liam McLellan – 19
7. Cooper Murray – 18
8. Hunter McElrea – 17

Related Posts

Latest News