Ojeda Super2 Rookie Champion 2020

Jayden Ojeda has been crowned Rookie Champion of the 2020 Dunlop Super2 Series.

The series was won by MW Motorsports Thomas Randle, followed in the standings by Will Brown and Jordan Boys, with Jayden Ojeda the best of the rookies in a superb fourth overall. Ojeda impressed many with his efforts in his first Dunlop Super2 season this year, displaying strong pace to quickly become a frontrunner.

Randle delivering MW Motorsport a record fourth Super2 title, backing up the Nissan team’s 2019 efforts.

“Its so cool” said Ojeda, “2020 Super2 Rookie Champion and 4th outright in my first year of Super2 series! Although it was only a short season, I’m grateful to do all the racing we managed to do! Thank you to my team and partners for this year it’s been one to remember” he added.

Jayden Ojeda

“In Adelaide I was over the moon just to finish fourth in one race, so to finish fourth overall in my first Super2 campaign is a great result, and to get three podiums from seven starts, adds further reason for optimism” said Ojeda.

Doubt had surrounded the status of the Super2 title race, with no certainty that the recent Bathurst round would be the last this year, however it has now been officially formalised.

Supercars Chief Operating Officer Shane Howard said “As confirmed by Motorsport Australia in September, a Super2 Champion 2020 would be crowned.  Focus will now shift to the 2021 Dunlop Super2 Series, which is expected to have a full six-round program announced as part of the Repco Supercars Championship calendar”.

jayden ojeda super 2 rookie champion 2020

Unfortunately, the $100,000 prize money for Rookie Champion was withdrawn earlier in the year, due to Covid and its commercial consequences.

“If COVID didn’t happen I’d be $100,000 up but at the end of the day it’s still great to come out of the year as the leading rookie going into 2021. My plan is to hopefully stay with Matt White for next year… Matt has been really good to me and hopefully I’ve been as good to him.” said Ojeda.

“I would like to congratulate Thomas for claiming this year’s title, and Matt White for claiming his 4th Championship with his team, and for their efforts under the most challenging circumstances this category has had to face in its 20-year history”.

“Thank you to all my partners that helped get me on the grid for 2020, it has been a tough year for everyone so I’m extremely grateful to have the people I have supporting me! Thank you to Jayco, Visa Global Logistics, AJM Transport, City Hino, Johnny H Adventures, Sparesbox, C.H Robinson, Revolution Racegear, One Point Health, UPS Sydney, Martcom, EurOz Driver Performance and Super 6 High Performance.”

jo sponsors

Related Posts

Latest News