Ojeda Leads Spectrum Charge at SMP

The 2017 Nation Formula Ford Series is still up for grabs after Borland Racing Developments Spectrum 015 driver Jayden Ojeda had another mixed weekend at his home round of the Australian Formula Ford Series at Sydney Motorsport Park on Sept 17-18th.

Jayden is based in Penrith, just down the Great Western Highway from SMP, but he played down any home-ground advantage. “To be honest, I’ve done more laps at Phillip Island and Winton than I’ve done at Sydney Motorsport Park,” Ojeda said.

ojeda leads spectrum charge at spm

Jayden Ojeda has maintained his position as the leading Spectrum driver in national Formula Ford competition, finishing fourth overall in Round 5 of the series at Sydney Motorsport Park on the weekend.

After qualifying fourth, Ojeda held fourth position for most of the weekend’s opening race before losing fourth gear in the closing stages, and being relegated to fifth.

A blinding start from the western Sydney driver in Race 2 elevated the Spectrum 015 to third position, and Ojeda set the fastest lap of the race while pressuring the leaders.

The weekend’s final race finished under Safety Car, Ojeda finishing in sixth place to secure fourth for the round.

ojeda leads spectrum charge at spm

“Overall, our speed was good this weekend – we just didn’t quite have the track position to capitalise,” Ojeda said. “The good news is that we’re still in title contention ahead of the final round at Phillip Island, so we’ll go there and put our best foot forward.”

Jayden Ojeda is proudly supported by Borland Racing Developments, VHT, SMS Diesel Spares, Sakura Filteration, Febi, Engine Sensors Australia, OE Germany, Pure Traveller, AMC, Valley Fitness St Marys, Stone Gaskets, Mahle-Izumi and CH Robinson Freight Forwarders.

The sixth and final round of the Australian Formula Ford Series is at Phillip Island, 30 September-1 October.

Australian Formula Ford Series – Top 10 Points (after Round 5 of 6)

  1. Max Vidau – 216
  2. Cameron Shields – 171
  3. Hunter McElrea – 168
  4. Jayden Ojeda – 160
  5. Cooper Murray – 118
  6. Liam McLellan – 107
  7. Nathan Herne – 104.5
  8. Harrison Jones – 95
  9. Zac Soutar – 64.5
  10. Jordan Boys – 55.5

Video: round 5 of the 2017 Formula Ford Series produced some more cracking racing.

ojeda leads spectrum charge at spm

Related Posts

Latest News